I am in the middle of reading The Shack and totally loving it. I love the creativity in its discussion of our humanity and the true nature of love–all set against the backdrop of a horrible tragedy.

This book has intensified my recent pondering on the love of God for us. It is a topic that I have circled around for many years. Once, over ten years ago, a guest preacher mentioned that he thought most of us had no clue about how much we are loved and this is the problem.

I tend to agree. We have head knowledge but not deep soul/spirit understanding.

The past year I have been going through grief counseling due to the death of my father, someone I love very much. We also have added a child to our lives, extending the circle of love. Pondering this immense love I have for our child helps me see a portion of God’s love for all of us. I’m sure this is a common experience for parents. My thoughts are still swirling around and I will post more on this topic as I think through the implications. As is learn to “be” in the place of being loved.

I think that grasping, however little I can, the love of God for all of us is one of the reasons I get angry when God’s beloved are led down a path that deepens the distance from God (like a path strewn with angel visitations and jolts of power that knock you out a la Todd Bentley and others). It is so unnecessary.

How can we be enveloped in the experiential assurance of God’s love without getting swept away by counterfeit displays of hype?

